raw milk

When I moved up to Houghton, I knew it was going to be tough to find local, organic produce and meat.  The growing season comes and goes in about a week, and people love to eat out, and find other ways to not cook up here.  But, I managed to find a promising CSA to join up here.  Our first share comes on June 19th, and I am VERY excited!

Also on my list of things to find, other than a CSA, was a place to get raw milk.  I am lactose intolerant, so pasteurized milk just will not do.  Plus, I know way too much about the goings-on of those dairy farms to ever touch generic grocery store milk ever again ( I won’y divulge anything here.  If you wanna know, look it up yourself).  But, raw milk is simply cooled down as quickly as possible after milking.  And that’s it.  All of the beneficial enzymes (such as lactase, which works with your body’s bacteria to break down the lactose, which causes all the problems), bacteria, vitamins, and a plethora of other good things that help your body fight off pathogens and maintain a healthy balance.  As with most things out there, there are some negative associations with raw milk.  There is fear that it will not be treated properly, and if that is the case, then serious illnesses can occur.  It is extremely important that you check out your source of milk to make sure they are clean and proper when handling their milk.  It is important that they get their milk tested on a regular basis (once a month should suffice) for contaminants, and that they treat their cows with respect.

The benefits of raw milk far outweigh any cause for concern, at least in my mind.

With this milk, I plan on making yogurt, sour cream, buttermilk, and butter.  It’s so exciting, I can hardly wait to get my first bottle (next Thursday!).  I highly recommend checking out the websites devoted to the good and the bad about milk, both raw and pasteurized.

About aletalane

I am a learner.
This entry was posted in General blogs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

