the all-powerful dollar bill

Once again, I am having conflicts in my mind.

Here I am, just starting my Master’s at Michigan Tech.  The first semester went very well, and my research is pretty much up and running.  However, I am having serious thoughts about the worth of this project.  I make a pretty decent stipend.  However, it is barely enough to see me through the month.  I always have enough, and I have no issues with going without buying anything other than groceries and gas.  But, I WOULD like to be saving money so that I may buy a house within the next few years.

In addition, my research is very time consuming, and I am quite exhausted at the end of the day.  It does not support who I am.  On the other hand, it has potential to get me good places.  Money means nothing to me.  I do not understand why we worship it so, nor do I understand people’s desire to always have more.  I am unfortunately tangled up in the money system, and it scares me that I am feeling all this pressure to save it up.  Would it be so bad to just be paying off loans for the rest of my life?  I do not live beyond my means, but I do desire a lot of land which I would garden, and it would also be used to graze animals.

The predicament:  How to achieve these dreams without being drawn into money’s grasp. How to control it, rather than the other way around.

About aletalane

I am a learner.
This entry was posted in General blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

