Godliness in a deer

The other evening, the sky was dark and stormy.  The colors blended together until even the bright flowers were faintly accepting the immensity of the occasion.  The wind whirled through the trees, whushing its way along.  If I looked hard enough, I could look beyond the pale green-grey of the fields and see beyond this world and into the next, could see where the wind rushed off to as it whipped through the grass.  All became one, accepting the wind’s mischief.  A bright spot of sunlight flickered down, outlining a deer’s coat in brilliance, and I saw in her a great God, and I was reminded of myself.  She snorted at me as I watched, bounding off into the forest in graceful leaps nearly twice her height.  It was the most beautiful thing I’d ever seen.

About aletalane

I am a learner.
This entry was posted in Thoughts from the soul. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

