To be held

You’re not alone darling.

Do you feel alone?

 

Why?

 

That slight coolness you feel

Is only my cupped hand

Laid along your cheek.

 

Feel my breath near your temple

As I kiss you with all the tenderness

Of a mother wolf

With her firstborn pup.

 

I’ll sit with you tonight

If you can’t bear all the world’s weight

In your sacred center.

 

I’ll lie curled next to you

And hold you while

You toss your way through the long night.

 

You’re not alone darling.

Do you still feel alone?

 

Why?

 

I’ll step when you step

And when you stop,

I’ll hold your elbow

In a silent show of support.

 

If you need me to,

I’ll hold your heart

In the palm of my hand.

 

Just until it can hold itself

And learn to beat again.

 

You’re not alone darling.

Do you still feel alone?

 

I’m here.

About aletalane

I am a learner.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

