For the love of a good dog

I’m still not sure what I did to deserve your undying affection

for you love me without shame

and do not chastise me for coming home late after work and a few beers,

but rather you lay sleeping peacefully until I wake up

and I say

‘Good morning, good morning sweet girl’

and you thump your tail and give me that good-dog grin

Sometimes I catch you looking at me, seal-slick head raised, brown eyes sly

what do your dog-eyes see in me

that gives me worth to be held in such high esteem?

Your affection gives me worth beyond earthly treasures

so though I may be worth but little in the eyes of mankind

your dog-love fills my heart beyond our planetary bounds

and for that, my whole body smiles and I ask you if you’d like to go outside

to which you respond

YES

by knocking my books and glasses off the table with

your wildly wagging tail

and you scratch my wood floors as you attempt to run through the house to the door

Paws scrabbling cartoon-style

I’ll tell you again that I love you beyond measure

and you’ll respond the same by letting me kiss your soft nose

and smiling into my face, although I tell you (again) that I’d rather not smell your breath

 

What did I ever do to deserve such love in my life?

 

 

About aletalane

I am a learner.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

