The Boy in the Striped Pajamas

I watched a movie today that tore my heart to pieces.  It’s called The Boy in the Striped Pajamas.  I won’t divulge any information about it, but I will tell you that it is beautiful and poignant, and incredibly moving.  I can honestly say that I have never been as strongly affected by a movie as I have by this one.  If you watched it, I know it wouldn’t affect you in the same way as it did me, but I don’t think anyone could watch this movie and not feel stirrings within their heart.

As I sat there at the end, tears falling down my face and a heart full of emotion, it really hit me (again, as I’ve come to this realization before) that I have to open up to the sorrow I feel regarding the human race.  I have yet to heal the pain I have for our history, and I have yet to find compassion for our species.  One can’t possibly know what it’s like to live a life other than his or her own, and that makes it too easy to forget, or not realize, the full spectrum of actions that are being committed and have been committed in the past.  It is important to open up to the joys and the love, yes, but it is also (and possibly more so) important to open up to the sorrows and the struggles of this world.  To have forgiveness in your heart not only for yourself but for all beings as a whole.  If you cannot have forgiveness and love in your heart for all of life, you cannot truly be open to the beauty that this world really is, and you cannot truly begin to comprehend what it really means to be human.

Another movie that I watched recently, Magnolia, was another one that tore me to the core of my heart.  For different reasons as well as similar ones as The Boy in the Striped Pajamas.  I’m not sure I can recommend this movie because in  my opinion it was not well done.  But, it did give a lot to awaken to and think about.

As I travel the mountains of my life, I come to a broader perspective and am greeted by so many artifacts that allow my eyes to open and my heart to expand.  I pray that I can recognize these artifacts for the teachers they are and that I can receive them ponder them with openness and compassion.

About aletalane

I am a learner.
This entry was posted in General blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Boy in the Striped Pajamas

  1. LoveNiki says:

    I really like this movie too! It’s so touching and entertaining

Leave a Reply

